My favorite panelist on the Environmental Leadership Panel at the GoGreen Expo NYC was the Lazy Environmentalist, Josh Dorfman.  The night before, I had done my homework by visiting his website.  His blog about how to better articulate the concept of sustainability definitely struck a chord with me so I knew I was in for a treat on Sunday. 

First of all, I agree with Josh that the current definition of sustainability is pretty uninspiring:   meeting the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs.  When I speak to groups, I usually just explain that sustainability is “making Earth’s resources last forever.”  While my definition is simple to understand, Josh takes it a step further and makes it also sound appealing: to live as well as we possibly can while bringing our lifestyles into balance with nature.

Josh pointed out that it doesn’t matter if we “green” folks do everything we can to live more sustainably; it’s much more important what the other 90% of the population – the “mainstream” are motivated to do.  In terms of how to get the mainstream to go green, he suggests appealing to people’s self interest:  it’s better for you and for the planet. 

One small example of this would be getting Back2Tap by using a reusable stainless steel bottle and drinking tap water instead of bottled water.  You’ll save money and reduce your impact on the planet. 

Later in the afternoon, there was a premiere of Josh’s first Sundance Channel TV reality series episode that will air in June.  In this episode, he visits a typical American family and tries to green up their lifestyle.  I was LOL in no time – the family actually uses disposable dishes for lunches and some dinners on a regular basis, the son thinks global warming is a girl issue, and the father thinks there’s plenty of room for all our trash in all that open space in Texas!    I won’t spoil the outcome of that green “makeover”! 

The Lazy Environmentalist blog and show are now some of my favorites!

