To be perfectly honest, giving up bottled water was a no-brainer for me because I was always too frugal, practical, and lazy to bother with it.   I never enjoyed spending money for plain water, hauling pallets of it home, storing it (where?), and having to recycle the empty bottles.  It made so much more sense to just drink tap water.   The other thing is, I drink mostly seltzer water, and much to the shock of my friends and family who think of me as a very health- and eco-conscious person, an occasional diet cola.  I  have to admit I guiltily kept buying these products long after I swore off regular bottled water because I didn’t know there was any option other than abstinence. 

My husband came to the rescue and gave me a Soda Club seltzer and soda maker on Christmas in 2007.  I was skeptical at first.  Would the water be fizzy enough?   Would it cost more?  How much space would it take up?  How would we get replacement CO2 tanks?  What are the plastic bottles made of? 

It is a fabulous machine.    The selzer is as fizzy as you choose to make it, it saves us around $250/year, it takes up about the same amount of space as a blender, the CO2 tanks are picked up and delivered from our front steps free of charge (in groups of three), and the reusable bottles are made of a safe, BPA-free plastic.

I don’t miss hauling 7 two-liter bottles home from the grocery store each week.  Beyond convenience and economy, our eco-footprint has been reduced, too.  By eliminating 365 disposable plastic seltzer bottles, I estimate that we are saving 50 gallons of oil, 400 gallons of water, and 200 pounds of greenhouse gases each year.

Since seeing the movie FLOW (see my December 4, 2008 post), I haven’t been as keen to drink commercial sodas, on principal.  I can’t stomach contributing to their profits.  Thankfully, the Soda Club machine can make an array of regular and diet sodas for those days I need an extra treat.  It’s a big hit with kids, too.

