I just heard this term today – bagnesia, and I love it! As far as I can tell, this is the number one complaint about reusable bags. Everyone has trouble remembering to bring them into the store with them.

Last year, I tried to “green” up my life.   In addition to avoiding bottled water, I decided to eliminate disposable bags from our lives.   As committed to this goal as anyone could be, I still couldn’t remember to bring the bags into the store – EVER!   I came up with two coping mechanisms.  For small loads, I carry a tiny nylon bag in its own stuff sack in my purse at all times.  For larger loads, I unload my cart at the checkout and then sprint to the car to get my reusable bags.  I have always gotten back with my reusable bags before the checker finishes scanning the groceries. 

I am happy to report that after 6 months of this dash to the car routine, sometimes in the rain, I have finally started remembering to bring the bags into the store with me.  Guess that’s how long it took me to make this new behavior a habit!

Now if I could just keep the checkers from loading things into plastic bags when I’m not looking!   Sometimes I wonder if they get paid by the bag instead of by the hour.  I’ve received more than one withering glare when I declare, a second too late: “NO BAGS, PLEASE – I HAVE MY OWN!”

